Photography getting techy

So I’ve been meaning to blog about my decelopments in creating photo inagery for a while now but am busy forever tapping my iphone screen, editting photos to get it done.

Without getting like a tutorial I just wanted to mention things I’ve discovered about using my well dropped and old iphone 4s for photography and the creation of shoots. Sorry if this is all quite obvious and I’m like the last person to learn how to take a photo.

It’s actually quite calm and methodical for someone like me that has only ever worked to her own schedule on impulsive creative projects.

I also wanted to mention how doing pin up or burlesque style images can be more affordable than bankruptcy for rhinestones.

I do everything myself from hand stitching props to uploading the best shots. If you create the shape you want, expression and pose you can nail it. No one is looking at all the nappy pins behind you holding it all together. I always thing onstage I’m a whir of saggy boobs and double chins. This is the joy of photography – the world sees you in one clear, poised image. You have utter control like making yourself a painting.

The main piece of equipment essential for this is a self timer camera. The iphones basic camera app doesn’t include one so I use KingCamera which can time up to 30 seconds before the smimage is captured- enough time to move into position for full body poses.

The next issues is the need of a tripod. My budget can’t stretch so it’s always a matter of piling suitcases to get the right angle.

20140701-012925.jpg

This is my studio area (I only own a futon and trapeze rig so no furniture is great). This was a test shot to see if I could pose in the wallpapered space.

I quickly found that the front facing camera has really low resolution. Using the back camera means walking across the room after every single shot, checking the image and placing it back again to walk back and hopefully get in position in 30 seconds. The timer seems to have no sound so it’s hard in a tight corset in an arabesque pose hoping you’ve posed still long enough.

Yes I could find someone to model but I’m always pushing what my own image can be.

I like the preparation of hair and makeup, painfully precarious costumes. It’s like preparing for theatre and just the same I find I need quiet to do this, to morph in to what I could draw or sculpt but instead I capture.

Regarding editting it has to hands down be the Photogene app. It’s like photoshop in your pocket, as I don’t have broadband or wifi at hand, but with the added extra of photo presets that aren’t just based on paint affects. It is brilliant for vintage and aged photos. The clone tool is a bit haphazard. I found that often the blur tool does a better job at smoothing skin and imperfections.

Below is a before and after using photogene and I’m kind of amazed if that’s not too vain.

20140701-014129.jpg

20140701-014227.jpg

The only real expense was the corset I wear but already owned, every good burlesque or goth should have one to hand for all occasions. Everything else I just sculpted around me from a primark dress and stash of chiffon. But I think the tinting and light effects from editing really turn the fabric into something else.

So if like me you think the iphone is the most pants camera ever (my old galaxy mini had a better camera) my advice is to start fiddling with apps and take selfies to die for -get creative with it and it’ll surprise you.

Leave a Reply

