I wrote songs

This time last year I left my village to a houseshare of mottled strangers, an angry landlord and oncoming Autumn in suburbia. I wrote songs. These are my 2 favourites written for autoharp and guitar.
Like all my lyrics they plop out my head without decision or planning.

Clockwork Orange Smile:

A Clockwork Orange,film and novel, are a love of mine. I learnt to read the slang and speak it without ever looking at the glossary. The name is a cockney saying for queer/weird -‘as queer as a clockwork orange’.
I had a friend that reminded me of Alex’s impish smile, the film stills are on my wall.

Lyrics;

Oh my brothers, my droogs my kin,
Can we hang up this mess that I’m in?
With pegs and dew and rope in the mornin’/mourning,
Til I forget where I have been

Oh Alex! I still need you,
To fix my heart of cogs and springs,
So that I can smile like clockwork,
And forget what I have seen

Hold me tight and lie that you miss me,
I will not be,
Back again?

Oh a little ‘ultra-violence’ never was a ‘real horrorshow’
Hold me tight and lie that you’ll miss me

I am left just holding to your clockwork orange smile

The second song is crossbone but actually I think I’ll write that song in another post, has a lot of historical London attached to it.

Ta ta x

2 thoughts on “I wrote songs

    1. Lynsey

      You should get them published. This isn’t a poem, its a folk song mostly referencing the book more than the film and is sang in a kind of shanty rhythm

Leave a Reply

